top of page

What is Gut Health?

Once I signed up to be a Plexus ambassador, I wanted to know EVERYTHING. First, I'm a mom. Then, I'm a nurse, a critic, a "look up Snopes first" sort of gal. I want to do my research. Like I said before, Alena (my friend, my sponsor), and I went to nursing school together. I would want her in there with me or any other loved one if it were do or die. She truly is an amazing nurse, mother, and Plexus ambassador. But just like her, I needed to know more about this product.

Where do you start? With the basics. Plexus talks about the Human Microbiome and Gut Health, so I decided that would be a good place to start. I took microbiology and several other biology classes in nursing school, but I needed my refresher course like any kid coming back from summer break.


I just linked the website for the Data Analysis and Coordination Center (DACC) for the National Institute of Health's (NIH) Common Fund Supported Human Microbiome Project (HMP). Whew! I have spent several hours reading this info and it is really interesting. "The NIH Common Fund Human Microbiome Project (HMP) was established in 2008, with the mission of generating resources that would enable the comprehensive characterization of the human microbiome and analysis of its role in human health and disease."

In the first phase, the project did studies from 300 healthy individuals and then also obtained studies from people specific microbiome- associated diseases. This was their control group. *On a side note- The NIH ran the project from 2008-2012 (Phase 1). They then handed the project over to the HMP. They are currently now in their 2nd phase.

Phase 2 is focusing on three different categories: Pregnancy and Preterm Birth, Onset of Inflammatory Bowel Disease, and Onset of Type II Diabetes. Each of these three study groups are tested during a period of microbial activity during dysbiosis-An unhealthy change in the normal bacterial ecology of a part of body, e.g., of the intestines or the oral cavity.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4838534/

*(This article was not letting me embed the code, but it's worth a copy and a paste if you want to take a look to learn more about dysbiosis.)*

Great research/information article on dysbiosis. It explains the effects of diet, environment, obesity/illness, and genetics. Although future work still needs to be done to confirm any hypothesis, great strides have been made for researchers coming closer to resolutions for dysbiotic disease processes.


Last article (but it's a good one too!) This is about a Hunter-gatherer tribe living in Tanzania. They are called the Hadza tribe. They wouldn't know what to do with the drive through fast-food service I'm accustomed to. These gatherers live long, healthy lives, minus any western medicine. Curious how, researchers went and studied them and took fecal samples to exam the microbiome of their stomach and intestines. They did the tests during both the dry and the wet season and found that there was a drastic change depending on the season and what the Hadza people were eating. They compared their research to that of the HMP and found that some of the microbes in the Hadza people were almost undetected in any industrialized population. They are using this research to see if there is a possibility of regaining the lost microbes in the industrialized populations that may have helped with the life expectancy of the Hadza tribe. The researchers do believe that the extremely fibrous diet of the Hadza people is reason for their diverse microbiome. Gut flora is known to flourish in a highly fiberous environment.

So I have done my research on the human microbiome. What does this have to do with Plexus? I started on the Plexus Tri-Plex which is system that takes their three most popular products and uses them to get your gut health back into balance.

1.) Bio Cleanse works to remove harmful microbes and substances, supporting your body’s natural detoxification processes.

2.) ProBio 5 helps restore a healthy balance to your intestinal tract and responds to imbalances in the gut. (This is their pro-biotic)

3.) Slim – Plexus’ patent-pending health drink is packed with prebiotics to support gut microbiome health, exciting weight loss benefits and a refreshing raspberry, lemon, watermelon flavor.

I added these three product descriptions from their page. I will add the full brochure for Triplex at the end of my blog for anyone interested.

I feel like I have reviewed enough research articles and websites to determine, 1.) A healthy microbiome is an important factor in overall health. 2.) There is still much research to be conducted, and far from conclusive, but enough collected to establish a considerable and well balanced "healthy gut" regimen. 3.) I feel confident enough in myself and in the benefits that Plexus has to open my welcome pack with a smile on my face and wellness in my heart (and tummy!)

bottom of page